AP Results, 2012

JPII Students Earn 90 AP Scholar Awards

Hendersonville, TN, July 10, 2012 Pope John Paul II students recently earned 90 AP Scholar Awards from the College Board in recognition of their exceptional achievement on AP Exams last May.

The National Advanced Placement Program provides willing and academically prepared students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP Exams. Only 18 percent of the more than 1.9 million students worldwide who took AP Exams performed at a sufficiently high level to also earn an AP Scholar Award.

The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students’ performance on AP Exams.

Eight students from JPII qualified for prestigious distinction of  “National AP Scholar” by earning an average score of 4 or higher on a five-point scale on all AP exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams. These students are: Alex Abdo, Brittney Brescia, Hogan Bryant, Hailey Cleek, Andrew Gilstrap, Emily Peel, Todd Scheriger, and Eric Stolz.

Twenty-eight students received the “AP Scholar with Distinction” award by earning an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. These students are Alex Abdo, Jonathan Adams, Brennan Belew, Brittney Brescia, Hogan Bryant, Ladd Caballero, Matthew Catignani, Hailey Cleek, Nathan Edwards, Lennart Funke, Emily Garretson, Andrew Gilstrap, Patrick Griffin, Cailin Harris, Carlton Hencey, Sierra Hooker, Cassidy Johnson, Simran Mahtani, Mackenzie Mayberry, Miranda Mysinger, Courtney O’Connor, Emily Peel, Todd Scheriger, Andrew Scruggs, Alexandra Smith, Eric Stolz, Chance Summers, and Michael C. Wells.

Twelve students qualified for the “AP Scholar with Honors” award by earning an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. These students are Richard Bandel, Maria Bednar, Lawrence Bringard, Seth Carver, Spencer Frost, Heath Herrington, Andrew Hnilica, Ashlyn Keightley, Summer Kennedy, Emily Pearl, Zach Pelka, and Shelby Turner.

Forty-two students qualified for the “AP Scholar Award” by completing three or more AP Exams with scores of 3 or higher. The AP Scholars are: Madeline Bologa, Sean Brewer, Jenny Cawood, Robert Cawood, Alexis Cook, Alyson Cox, Margaret Duzane, Dennis Essmann, Margaret Finaly, Logan Frost, Nicholas Geiger, Holly Gibbens, Elizabeth Griggs, Rachel Hinlo, William Ilia, James Johnson, Grace Jones, Rebecca Kaiser, Erika Larson, Aidan Leonard, Audrey Manners, Dominick Massa, Bryan Melcher, Sarah Missimer, Ashley Montgomery, Samuel Moore, Mary Musacchio, Meredith Noah, Carlee Pritchard, Sydney Rein, Lucas Rudd, Jenna Singer, Sean Sooker, Hannah Strobel, Evan Summers, Mary Vaughn, Hannah Vickery,  David Walker, Annalea Wilson, Adam Wood, Clare Zanger, and Dylan Zenga.

In the last two years, JPII students have received a total of 183 AP Scholar Awards. Many of this year’s recipients were just juniors in May and will have the opportunity to add to their honors during the 2012-13 school year.

“We’re proud of these kids,”  JPII Headmaster Faustin Weber reflects. “They’ve reached beyond themselves and taken a challenging, college-level curriculum. Their success now should help them with college tuition costs later. I am also proud of our teachers, who attended national AP workshops, honed their craft, and spent many hours outside of regular class time to help students get to this level.“