Our Teachers

DSC_0038Our teachers are recognized as some of the very best in Tennessee.

Math Chair Betty Mayberry and Science Chair Jennifer Dye are “Presidential Award “ winners for Excellence in the Teaching of Math and Science,  two of only a handful in the state. Three JPII teachers have been honored as Tennessee Academy of Science’s “Distinguished Secondary Teacher of the Year.” Karen Phillips, our Dean of Studies, is the “Southeastern United States AP Teacher of the Year” in 2009. Three members of our coaching staff–Roger Jones, Brent Alexander and Justin Geisinger–played in the NFL before joining us. We have many teachers with advanced degrees from first rate universities such as Vanderbilt, Notre Dame and Duke.

Our teachers help kids who are struggling by offering tutorials after school, but they also challenge the brightest kids through Advanced Placement classes and independent study opportunities.

In survey after survey, parents and students say “caring, professional teachers” are the best feature of JPII.